Trinacria A (Bel)




Tysers (Eng)

* Trinacria A (Bel) won 3-1 on penalties.


Our twelfth ever Trophy Final now awaited us and we had been treated to some superb Finals before. It was Trinacria A versus Tysers.

Many of them had been very close with 5 of the previous 11 had going to penalties In Valencia 2012, Sporting Abeergut held off a late rally from FC Dad to win it 3-2. At the 2014 Budapest Fives, Contejus Hurricanes (with a man sent off) held on to a close 2-1 win over Cava Sundays.

They had all been close affairs until 2014 when we saw Ziar Crew beat Fireball 5-1 in Bratislava and Elcombe Old Boys beat SV Zoo 5-0 in Barcelona. These remain the highest scoring Trophy Finals. We have had Trophy winners from England, Ireland, Latvia, Oman, Slovakia and Spain. Trinacria A were aiming to add Belgium to that list.

If we were looking for a form guide we could look no further back than to Group C of this morning's competition. Trinacria A won that duel 2-0 to finish one place and 3 points ahead of their opponents in the league table. Since Group C both teams had won two games in a row so had momentum behind them.

Tysers had really gained some form and in particularly tightened up their defence – they had conceded 19 in 5 group games. Since then, just the 1 goal in 2. They had Lee Townsend on 8 goals for the tournament so knew that if they could continue their defensive improvement had the ability to hurt Trinacria A at the other end.

Trinacria A had overcome their touring friends 3-2 in the Quarters before earning an excellent win over Morocco's ASMS in the Semis – also 3-2. The Moroccan team had only previously lost 1 game in the tournament so this was quite a scalp.

The stage was set and both teams were ready to go – who would be picking up the winners medals in the presentation?

It proved to be a very even game and there was nothing to separate the two teams at half-time. The teams were locked together at 0-0. As was so often the case in the tournament, the goals came in the second period as the game opened up and legs tired. Although the goals came, the two teams could still not be separated. Jean-Claude Messina (Trinacria A) and Michael Ward (Tysers) could both now boast that they had scored in a European Final. The game finished 1-1 and we would need penalties to decide the Trophy.


It was a first penalty shoot-out for both teams in competition. Trinacria A would take the first penalty and it was their goalkeeper, Francesco Urso, who stepped forward to take it. He had already scored in the tournament and he found the net again here to give his side a 1-0 lead. Greg Bowles stepped up first for Tysers. He had a goal in the Quarter-Finals to his name and he also found the net again. Bowles put it in the top corner for 1-1.

Aldo Urso with 2 goals in the tournament today was up next – he didn't hit it cleanly but it had just enough in terms of pace and direction to beat the goalkeeper and Trinacria A lead 2-1. Michael Ward was the fourth man to walk up to the penalty spot having scored in normal time in this game. He went for power down the middle, Francesco Urso was diving to his left but managed to stick out a trailing leg to make the save. It was advantage to Belgium.

Gaetano Intrigillo made his way to the penalty spot. All the pressure was on his shoulders. Trinacria A were one successful strike from glory. Cometh the hour, cometh the man and Intrigillo was that man. He put the penalty away and Trinacria A were Trophy champions!

Our commiserations go to Tysers who gave it a real go and were excellent in the knock-out phase having drawn the Group of Death for 2 successive tournaments. They went on to collect Runners Up medals. We look forward to seeing them return to action in the future and maybe the medals they pick up will be of the winning variety – third time lucky.

For today though, we present you the 2018 Lisbon Tournament Trophy Winners– many congratulations to Trinacria A. Enjoy the Trophy, enjoy the medals, enjoy the success, enjoy the rest of your time in this great city!

Click on links below to proceed to



©Copyright 2006 |
site disclaimer | contact us