Galacticos (Eng)




Saipan FC (Ire)


It was Cup Final time in Portugal. After 74 games of football we came down to the most important of them all. Game 75, the match that would determine the 2018 Lisbon Tournament champions.

For the first time ever in Lisbon we would have a team residing outside of Portugal taking the glory. In 7 previous tournaments we had 6 Portuguese winners and 1 (Lisbon-based) Brazilian winner. Today it would be England or Ireland taking the trophy and medals on that plane home.

The two teams set to do battle for the honour and glory of victory were Galacticos and Saipan FC. Both teams has Cup Final history with us Galacticos competed in the 2010 Valencia Fives Cup Final but missed out on glory to an extremely good Futbol City (Spa) team. Saipan FC were playing in their third Cup Final. They lost 1-0 to the Black Sheep (Spa) at the 2012 Barcelona Fives but defeated ZVC Indoor Gent (Bel) at the 2015 Mallorca Tournament. Saipan FC can also boast 3 Plate Finals (1 successful at the 2014 Valencia Fives).

These two teams had met earlier today in Group D and on that occasion it was Galacticos who were victorious, 2-0. A repeat would clearly be just what the doctor ordered for Galacticos. Could Saipan FC exact their revenge though?

The game itself was played with a great atmosphere as the other teams all assembled pitch-side to watch the show-piece game of the day. They were to witness an early goal and what a good goal it was. Agus Benedito Galmes turned his man on the right wing and fizzed a cross across the face of goal where Julian Cornelius was on hand to turn the ball home for 1-0 Saipan FC.

It looked like Galacticos might hit back quickly but Hector Navarro Real made a superb goal line clearance. At the other end Hector Navarro Real was looking dangerous with a few shots from distance. Hamza Patel was looking dangerous for Galacticos but there was no addition to the score in the first half.


At the start of the second half Zeeshan Ali shot just over. Yasseen Ali then put it over the bar with a bicycle kick and put another effort just wide. Saipan FC appeared to weather the early storm and had some chances of their own. Agus Benedito Galmes had a couple of efforts and then came close with a volley from a throw-in. Adam Patel had a chance at the other end as he came close to an equalizer before Galmes almost increased the lead.

The sands of time gradually ticked away and Saipan FC defended well and kept possession when they could. Richie Magnier's third clean sheet of the tournament sealed the win.

A sub-plot of this Cup Final was the top goal-scorer award. Both Hector Navarro Real (Saipan FC) and Hamza Patel (Galacticos) started the Cup Final on 10 goals each. Neither could add to their tally and so, for the first time in 94 tournaments we had a shared top goalscorer prize. Well done to both players.

Our sincere commiserations to Galacticos who had come so close to glory but just missed out now twice runners up in our tournaments. Could it be third time lucky at their next Cup Final? It was a superb day's play for them though but it was just not meant to be though.

Our congratulations go to Saipan FC on their second victory. They join an illustrious list of teams who are multiple Cup winners. They are the 12 th team to do so and just 2 titles behind the all-time record holders (Olympic Phil Babb & CIS Committee).

Click on links below to proceed to



©Copyright 2006 |
site disclaimer | contact us