Frank Hirth A (Eng)




Red Cow Belgrade (Eng)

* Frank Hirth A (Eng) won 3-1 on penalties.


Our seventh ever Trophy Final now awaited us and we had been treated to some superb Finals before.

The first ever Trophy Final in history took place in Berlin 2012 and was a dramatic affair as Hertha Beerlin versus FC Cobaltslautern went all the way to penalties. In Valencia 2012, Sporting Abeergut held off a late rally from FC Dad to win it 3-2. At the 2013 Barcelona Fives we needed another penalty shoot-out as Spain's Drunk Perfect and Ireland's Deportivo Dooradoyle drew 1-1. The Irish team then won 2-1 on penalties. Then, earlier this year at the 2014 Budapest Fives, Contejus Hurricanes (with a man sent off) holding on to a close 2-1 win over Cava Sundays.

They had all been close affairs until 2014 when we saw Ziar Crew beat Fireball 5-1 in Bratislava and El Combe Old Boys beat SV Zoo 5-0 in Barcelona.

Both these teams were playing in their second final and both were looking to avenge defeats in those finals. Red Cow Belgrade lost the 2014 Barcelona Fives Plate to Naranjitos (2-0), Frank Hirth A lost the 2014 Berlin Fives Cup Final to Hasanheide Hotspur (4-3). The aim was to convert those Runners-Up medals to Winners ones.


This game had much more in keeping with the pre-2014 Trophy Finals and was a close contest. Red Cow Belgrade had already played Frank Hirth B today and on that occasion they were level 1-1 at half-time. They also found themselves level at 1-1 with the A team in this match. Daz Bray scored for the third game in a row for Red Cow Belgrade whilst John Bull scored the goal for Frank Hirth A.

Against Frank Hirth B, Red Cow Belgrade conceded in the second half to lose 2-1 and would hope to avoid a repeat against the A team. The second half passed without further addition to the score and a penalty shoot-out would be required to decide this game. It would be the third time a Trophy Final had required a penalty shoot-out.

Red Cow Belgrade had already been involved in a penalty shoot-out today (obviously to be here they were successful). They were also involved in a shoot-out in the 2014 Barcelona Fives Plate Semi-Final which was also successful. A hat-trick of penalty shoot-out successes would see them crowned champions.

Frank Hirth A were yet to play in a penalty shoot-out but they had just seen their B team qualify for the Plate Final courtesy of penalties so if they could emulate their team-mates they would be collecting the Trophy in this evening's presentation.

Frank Hirth A would take the first penalty and it was Mark Funnell who stepped forward and powered his side into a 1-0 lead. Kevin Roome stepped up first in Red Cow Belgrade's Quarter-Final shoot-out and he took responsibility again with the same result – he scored, 1-1.

Harry Klingenspor had 4 goals in the tournament and he was up next – the net bulged for the fifth time today and Frank Hirth A lead 2-1. Daz Bray was the fourth man to walk up to the penalty spot and he smashed his kick down the middle and CJ Walford made the save to put his team within one penalty of glory. John Bull made his way to the penalty spot. He scored the goal in normal time and he followed this up with a successful penalty to seal the shoot-out 3-1.

Our commiserations go to Red Cow Belgrade who gave it a real go and went on to collect Runners Up medals. We look forward to seeing them return to action in the future and maybe the medals they pick up will be of the winning variety – third time lucky.

For today though, we present you the 2015 Lisbon Tournament Trophy Winners– many congratulations to Frank Hirth A.

Click on links below to proceed to



©Copyright 2006 |
site disclaimer | contact us