AFC Shooters A (Eng)




Mavericks (Eng)


The second final of the day (after the Wooden Spoon) would see AFC Shooters A versus Mavericks. With seven games of football already under their belt the two teams would need to summon one last burst of energy to ensure they would be picking up winners and not runners-up medals in the presentation.

Both teams had reached a Final on debut so had made an impressive start to life and could duly be proud of their performance. No-one wanted to lose a Final though and to go home with the trophy and winners medals would crown a fine day

We witnessed a great Plate Final and it was AFC Shooters A who forged ahead through Aaron Wheeler his third goal of the tournament putting his team in the box seat. Those Mavericks legs would surely feel heavier now as they tried to get back on level terms. Joe Wihl made it 2-0 to AFC Shooters A and they would no doubt have much more spring in their step buoyed by being in touching distance of victory.

2-0 became 3-0 when Matt Bailey put the icing on the cake and put the result beyond doubt. It was a result that meant they had lost just once in eight games today and were arguably worthy winners for their consistency through-out the day

We'd like to thank Mavericks for attending and offer our commiserations for the Final. It had ultimately proved one game too far this time and maybe they could go one step further next time.

For today though, we present you the 2015 Algarve Open Plate Winners AFC Shooters A!

Click on links below to proceed to
Open Age Section
Veterans Section



©Copyright 2006 |
site disclaimer | contact us