CIS Committee (Blr)




Csabagyongye (Hun)


So, with 42 games under our belts we had just one more to go to decide the winners of the 2015 Budapest Fives. We had a great final in store and a fantastic crowd assembled by Pitch A to watch the game and see who would be crowned champions.

The Final would be contested by CIS Committee of Belarus (100% record with 6 wins) and Csabagyongye of Hungary (4 wins, 2 draws). The general feeling was that the team from Belarus were the ones to beat. History was in the making for these two teams.

CIS Committee were looking to win their 3rd title which would put them joint 2nd in the all-time list behind Olympic Phil Babb of England (4 titles) and level with Athletico Do Hollande of Holland (3 titles). CIS Committee were looking to become only the second team to successfully defend a title after Athletico Do Hollande's wins at the 2010 and 2011 Algarve Opens.

Csabagyongye could be the fifth team to record both a Cup victory and a Plate victory in history after this feat had also been achieved by FC Radbroke, Rigford Seahawks (both England), Equipo A (Spain) and GSF Drunkerz (Slovakia).

With the game underway the pattern in the early stages was one of CIS possession with Csabagyongye sitting back to defend. Anton Galay forced a saved for CIS and Koczka hit one over from a tight angle but there was little in the way of clear cut chances. Then came the first telling moment of the game as Sergey Polyakov blocked a clearance from the home goalkeeper and the block rebounded into the net for 1-0. Csabagyongye had looked comfortable until that point and it was such a shame to concede in that way – we hoped it didn't spoil the final as a spectacle.

CIS Committee then looked to turn the screw and the Hungarian goalkeeper redeemed himself with blocks/saves from Anton Galay and three times from Polyakov. For much of the first half Koczka had been too isolated up front with little support as Csabagyongye sat deep. That was until late in the half when Csabagyongye won the ball and broke quickly. A ball laid off to Koczka was hit first time and curled past the Belarus goalkeeper for 1-1. It proved to be the last kick of the half and it was game on.

The second half started in similar fashion to the first half with Aliaksandr Lisouski heading over and Anton Galay forcing another save – which the goalkeeper saved with his face from close range. Ouch! Csabagyongye had a couple of ‘almost' moments on the break but the final ball was lacking.

Lisouski came close as his shot was deflected wide and from the corner the ball was fired wide. The next big moment of the game came from the restart. The ball found Koczka in the middle of a triangle between goalkeeper and two defenders. Lovely control on his chest and on the turn took him through on goal and as he took it past Gerasimovich, Ihar Shcherbich lunged in and a penalty was given. The Fritzl Palace players behind the goal at the end appealed for a penalty although most of the spectators were on the blind-side of the incident. There were no protests from the CIS Committee team.

Gergo Koczka scored his penalty in the Semi-Final penalty shoot-out and he stepped up again here. Alexander Gerasimovich went the right way but the penalty was well struck and found the bottom corner. 2-1 to Csabagyongye.

CIS Committee pressed for the equalizer with Aliaksander Lisouski having a snap shot well saved before Shcherbich fired wide from distance. Koczka could have had a hat-trick and sealed the game but headed wide. With time running out Gerasimovich moved up from the back as all players were camped in the Csabagyongye half. There was one final chance for Anton Galay but the Csabagyongye goalkeeper made another fine save – he'd more than made up for his first half error. It was touch and go whether he or Koczka would be man of the match.

It was all over. There was a massive release of pressure as Csabagyongye were jubilant in celebration. They had won it with a great comeback and committeed display - Congratulations to the 2015 Budapest Fives champions.

Our commiserations to CIS Committee who had made it a superb Cup Final for the spectators to watch but fell to the curse of the defending champions. It was now 6 teams who had got to the Cup Final to defend their trophy only to fall at the final hurdle. CIS Committee join the following teams in this infamous list – Goldsmith Williams (Eng), Lozenetz City (Bul), Deportivo (Cze) and Los Swallacticos (Nir).

There was consolation for CIS Committee as Sergey Polyakov claimed the day's Top Goalscorer award with 8 goals. Well done to you Mr Polyakov.

We send our congratulations to all the teams who participated in what was a great day's competition. The tournament had everything we hoped it would (and more). We look forward to seeing you all again very soon.

Group Phase
Plate Knock-out
Cup Knock-out



©Copyright 2006 |
site disclaimer | contact us