Olympic Phil Babb add Algarve title to Amsterdam crown

The 2009 Algarve Open was our largest tournament team to date with 20 teams taking on the challenge to win in Portugal.

After a full day of action on the sunny Algarve coast it was Olympic Phil Babb who emerged victorious. They became the first team to win two eurofootballfives.com tournaments and followed up their 2008 Amsterdam Fives victory with the the 2009 Algarve Open title. We've been advised that Barcelona is their next target in 2010 as they aim for the hat-trick.

In the Plate there was also double success as the CSF won their second award in five tournaments following up their Plate victory at the 2008 Krakow Trophy with the 2009 Algarve Open Plate.

The Algarve Open saw the first ever eurofootballfives.com Wooden Spoon competition for the four teams finishing 5th in their group - local side Moss Deb FC picked up this honour.

The last honour of the day was an individual honour rather than a team honour. This personal prize was the Top Goalscorer of the tournament which was won by Alex Woolston of Olympic Phil Babb. He bagged 8 goals in 7 games with a goal in the final to ward off three other challengers who finished on seven goals.

The 2010 Algarve Open, at the time of writing, is already 75% full so promises to be another fantastic tournament. Email us on info@eurofootballfives.com if you would like to join us.


©Copyright 2006 | eurofootballfives.com
site disclaimer | contact us